Chicken and Rice Soup Casserole

So what happens when a busy Mom gets home from church with her family and has no idea what to cook for lunch?  Its called you look through the refrigerator and make up a recipe out of what you have!  And this…..was the making of Chicken and Rice Soup Casserole!

DSC_0272

So I started with a bowl of cooked, de-boned chicken, a bowl of leftover cheese dip, opened can of tomato sauce, can of beans (any kind would work, black beans would have added some color, but I didn’t have any), and white rice.  I ended up also adding shredded cheese and tortilla chips!

 

First, I cooked 1 cup of long grain rice. While this cooked, I cubed my chicken and heated it in a skillet with the cheese dip and tomato sauce.  After it came to a boil I added in the beans and seasoned with salt and pepper.  (If you like spice I suggest adding some cayenne pepper.)

 

DSC_0273

After the rice was finished cooking, I greased a 9×13 pan with cooking spray and added my skillet mix and rice together.  I then shredded some cheddar cheese on the top (just a leftover hunk).

 

DSC_0274

I started to put this in the oven (set on 350), but then decided it just didn’t look finished, so I pulled it back out and added crushed tortilla chips to the top.  I baked this for 25-30 min. on 350.

 

DSC_0275

 

I pulled it out as the edges browned.

 

DSC_0276

 

Then it was time to dig in!  We decided it tasted similar to my chicken and rice soup, thus the name!  We will definitely have this again!  Enjoy!

 

DSC_0277

Chicken and Rice Soup Casserole

1 cup long grain rice (uncooked)

1-2 cups cubed or shredded chicken

1 can (8 0z.) tomato sauce

1 – 1 1/2 cup leftover cheese dip

1 can of beans of choice

1/2-1 cup shredded cheese

Tortilla Chips

Salt, Pepper, Cayenne

 

Leave a Reply

